Sunday, June 1, 2014

Girls on the Run at the Starlight Parade

I volunteered yesterday evening with Girls on the Run and ran with a young girl from Beverly Cleary school in the Starlight Parade 5k fun run.  I don't normally do fun runs and I don't normally enter 5k but for a good cause and for a good reason, I will.  I love the opportunity to motivate a young girl to run and motivate her to achieve her goals, whatever they may be.  It's even more exciting if she is motivated to want to run, then I don't feel like Sisyphus and I'm doing all the work for naught (I have some youth clients like that, so frustrating).

We had our practice 5k several weeks ago, on a day that it was blazing hot and I had forgotten I had agreed to volunteer with Girls on the Run.  I was completely unprepared for the run and was wearing a pencil skirt, tee, the wrong bra for running and some Pumas. But, I managed the run just fine and was excited to do the real deal.

I came prepared this time for the Starlight Run.  I had a proper running skirt, a sports bra (that's key), running shoes, my trusty unicorn socks, the Girls on the Run issued tee I was told to wear (all though, if it were up to me, I would not have worn a cotton tee, but I can conform when asked to for a good cause) and my shades (they're prescription...better to see you with).

Sam, Eytan and Ayelet were going to drop me off.  But, when they got there, the girls said they wanted to see mommy run (okay, you've seen mommy run lots of races, bigger races than a 5k, but, okay).  If Daddy can find a parking space in this madness, you'll be in luck.  I arrived as I was told: before 6:30 and the field was quiet.  So much for everyone else being punctual.  The rest of my own team wasn't even there except for maybe one other runner who arrived at 5:30 (she misread the email she told me, ouch!)  Finally, people start arriving and then Sam texts and says they found a parking spot and will be coming down shortly.  Low and behold, the event doesn't even start until 7:45.  7:45??  Why on earth did I need to be there by 6:30?  I could have been there by 7:00 and things would have been just fine.  That's okay, its for a good cause.  Where is my running partner anyway?  That's cool, when she gets here it's not like she and I will be having some deep intellectual conversation.  Sam continues to walk around with the girls to see what free goodies they can find.  Then, Ayelet spots some balloons, the kind that get shaped into animals and flowers and such.  Some kid is sitting under an umbrella and has some balloons shaped into a hat of some sort on his head and she wants one.  Sam takes the girls over and they go bananas over the balloons.  This kids has quite the entrepreneurial spirit, the little asshole is charging for the balloons.  Seriously you little shit?  That bag of balloons cost maybe $2 and you're charging $1.00 for balloon flower?  You're lucky the balloon will pop before I try to tie it around your spindly neck.  Sam didn't bring money because he wasn't planning on staying, just dropping me off and the only money I have is for the bus ride to get home after the run.  When Ayelet finds out she is not getting a balloon, she melted down in a snotty mess of tears and sobs and "I want a balloon!!"  What is it with kids and balloons anyway?  After that, I pass along the tid-bit of information that the run doesn't even start until 7:45 (it's not even 7:00).  WHAAA??  Well, now that Sam is armed with this piece of knowledge, it's time to head out.  There is no way the restless troops, well, at least not Ayelet, can last much longer.  Kisses and hugs all around and hasta luego, buenos noches and have fun at Burgerville.

Finally, my running partner arrives.  Yay!  For the practice 5k I had two running partners.  Tessa and Sophie.  For the Starlight, I was told that I was down to 1: Tessa.  Tessa never seemed that into me as a running partner, but whatever.  I was introduced to Tessa's Aunt who seemed very nice and she was ready to run as well.  Sophie arrived with her mom, who remembered my name, which I thought was impressive (especially considering I did not remember hers).  I broke the news that I was no longer her running partner and Sophie looked saddened, which made me feel bad.  It was kind of weird especially knowing Tessa seemed to have such an indifference toward me, I got the feeling that if I had told her I wasn't going to be her running partner she would have continued putting on her glowstick bracelets like nothing happened.  So, I was a little taken aback when Sophie looked a little dejected by my news.  However, after speaking with the coaches, it turns out Sophie's running buddy did not show up (how dare you not show up??).  After speaking with Tessa's aunt who used to run regularly and was dressed to run, she agreed to run with Tessa and Tessa seemed okay with that arrangement.  I would run with Sophie, and all would be right with the world again.  Sophie made me a bracelet, so sweet, her mom took our pictures and we chatted about our master plan for the run and it felt great.  I felt I had a like-minded running partner; not overly chatty, serious, but not joyless.  Overall, she is great kid.

We chatted about her goal for the run and she said she didn't have one; just finish.  She said she also wanted to run the whole thing.  Done.  We can make that happen.  The run started off slow, because its so crowded, we talked a little bit.  We talked about her pace, if she felt good with it.  We chatted about costumes we saw on the course.  Then I asked her about getting high-fives from kids along the parade route, I said if you want to get high-fives you need to run along the sides.  At first Sophie said, nah, and shook her head that she wasn't interested.  I kept telling her she was nuts, that's the best part of the Starlight Parade run.  It's like all these people are out here for you, Sophie, cheering You on.  Sophie! Sophie!  You can't let your fans down, don't leave them hanging.  I'll start, then you get some.  It's fun!  I love that kind of thing.  High-fives from little kids is awesome!!  Eventually, Sophie was really feeling it.  I was so proud of her.  She was running in front of me with her hand out, reaching down to give little kids sitting on the ground high fives, all while maintaining a smooth stride.  Sophie truly made it look effortless like she had been doing this running thing and giving high-fives for a long time.  I kept envisioning tripping over some kids crocs and toppling over and having some bloody shoulder or elbow to contend with for the last mile, fortunately it didn't happen, but bending over to high-five a little kiddo sitting on the ground is putting myself in a precarious position and I've got farther to bend over than Sophie.

Sophie took the hills like a master and finished strong.  I couldn't have been more proud of my running partner.  I am so glad that I volunteered with Girls on the Run.  I have spoken about it with Eytan and Ayelet and eagerly await when they are old enough to participate so I can have them as my running partners and I can coach a group of young girls at their school.  It was such a rewarding experience.

Then came time to get the heck out of dodge.  I was planning on taking the bus home, but because of the Starlight Parade I couldn't even figure out where the buses were picking up from.  I decided I would just run home once I got to the east side of the river or at least to the Hawthorne Bridge; I was thinking, it wouldn't be that difficult to get to the east side of the river.  Boy howdy was I wrong.  I am not a parade person, but those parade people are serious!  Listen, that's great you enjoy a good 'show', but I just want to get across the street in the most direct route as possible and that would be a straight line, in this case that would be through the parade route.  I don't want to obstruct your view, I don't want to see the parade I just want to get across the street and I don't want any trouble.

It all seemed simple at first as I moseyed down the street, then I came upon Broadway where the parade route was performing.  A group of clowns at the corner and a bit north a group of cops with some guns or flags or something sharp, either way, I didn't want to bother with them...cops are trigger happy with brown people (then they make up some lame excuse about why it was the brown persons fault to justify their trigger finger and their internal investigations always seems to back it up..., so it was best to stay with the clowns even if they are weird).  I asked several people if I could get by because I wanted to cross the street.  These people seemed nice enough and they let me eek by and I dashed through a troupe of clowns doing their thing (you could probably come up with a joke here; what happens when a lawyer crosses a clown?)

I thought I was in the clear of the parade.  I continued east, saw some other parade watchers getting upset with people stopping and standing in front of them, not me of course, because I know how to keep it moving and I'm not interested in stopping to watch.  My goal: go home.  I would take the bus, but I still can't figure out where the buses are running from.  I see them, but it's almost like some urban legend at this point.  I see the bus and its almost like it vanishes into thin air, besides it's going the wrong direction and its several blocks away...how would I get to it with this parade in the way?

I keep walking and wouldn't you know it there is still more parade route down here, curses!!  I really don't need this right now.  This is a corner heavy with people, too.  And, I see lawn chairs, lots of them and blankets.  These people are clearly in for the long haul and they probably don't want me traipsing on their blanket (but should that really be their concern if they are laying their blanket on the dirty ass street where homeless people pee and poo and drunkards throw-up? And police horses poo?)  I stop at a corner. try to get across the street by asking people, excuse me, pardon me, I just want to get across the street.  I am told by some woman with a very thick accent, they aren't letting people cross, "what?"  They aren't letting people cross.  Another woman is standing next to me and she says she just came through here a few minutes ago.  The accented woman says the police won't let people through.  I look down the street both directions and don't see police anywhere.  Then I start thinking, how are the police going to keep people from crossing?  Their is no barricade.  The only people I see are some people that look like they could be flaggers or part of a float team, i.e., they have no policing authority.  I said, excuse me and start stepping over people and accented lady says, "seewiouzly?"  Seriously, mitches.  Again, I dash across but on the other side, it's camping chairs with the arm rests all touching so now I need to try to step over all these stinking chairs without falling.  Damn you people!  One person, one person moved his chair a smidge to allow me to get by.  Thank you, sir.  The rest of you, well, you know what you can do to yourselves.  It's not like I was obstructing your view by sitting in front of you, I was trying to get past you d-bags, I don't care about the parade, I'm not a parade person (we'll see if this changes when the girls are older).

Finally, I made it to the foot of the Hawthorne Bridge and I was able to run home from there, to what amounted to another 5k.  No crowds, just city traffic and traffic lights, the usual.  But, overall, what a great night.  I'm so proud of my running partner and I would absolutely volunteer with Girls on the Run next year.




Thursday, May 29, 2014

These pretzels are making me thirsty

I feel like I have commiserated previously about going out for a run and feeling like my legs were carrying around bricks.  Without having reread any past posts, I am going to presume I did utter this sentiment and I will do it again.

I went for a run Wednesday, mid-morning.  It was 10:42 a.m.  It wasn't raining, although it had been raining heavily all morning and there was a break in the rain.  I was dressed to go running from the moment I got the girls up to go to school.  Got to be prepared at any given moment because you just never know when it will be dry enough to dash out the door on a day like this (showers followed by monsoon like rains followed by sun).  I had on some capri running skirt ensemble and a long sleeve tee.  But, I saw a glimmer of sun, so I changed just before I headed out the door into a short sleeve tee.  I had a cup of coffee earlier in the morning when I was getting the girls the breakfast, but I usually have coffee before I go for a run (just for a little extra kick) so that was not unusual.  At 10, I remember thinking I should probably drink some more water so I did have some, but probably not enough though.  I didn't want to drink too much because I didn't want to be bloated and have to pee along my run.  I really just wanted enough to hydrate me at that moment.  However, I wasn't planning on going for a very long run, 5-6 miles.  I should have known what was happening at that moment, but once again (a recurring theme, hindsight...grrr).

I put the Beast in her crate and headed out the door.  Music on.  Check.  Mapmyrun on.  Check.  10 second countdown begins and I'm off.  The first thing I notice is I feel like I am moving a bit slower than usual and it feels warmer than I expected.  I was wishing I had put shorts on instead.  Too late now, I've left the house and there's no turning back.  Now, the other thing I'm thinking is where to go.  But, dang why does it feel so difficult?  I'm not even a mile in and I'm really sluggish.  Granted, it usually takes me a couple miles to get into my groove (why don't I add some Deee-Lite, a little Groove is in Heart, remember that? to my running mix? What ever happened to them anyway?)  I had to cross a busy street, Powell, and of course those drivers aren't stopping for nothing; even at the cross-walk.  I had to put myself out there, one foot precariously in the cross-walk and fortunately, someone stopped and I was able to dash across the street like a game of Frogger.  I kept going and it continued to feel like I had cinder blocks for feet.  I actually started getting what felt like a shin-splint, which I never get: not good.  The best way to make this go away is to keep running, right?  Just after I take a short walk because, WTF?  I walk about 5 seconds and decide to go up a hill, maybe the problem is I need some more heat generated in my legs to warm my muscles.  So, up a slow incline of Clinton where not only does that make the shin splint subside, but I also decide it's time to turn up my running so it doesn't feel so sluggish.  Except, the only thing I can think about is how dry my mouth is.  Not good.  That and how warm i'm feeling.  I'm actually wishing it would start raining so I can at least get some water in my mouth and cool off a bit because some clouds will invariably cover the sky, bye-bye sun and the temperature will drop.  Yippee!  But, nooohhh, why would my running prayers be answered?  They wouldn't.

I was able to speed up and feel like myself for another mile or so, but even the sight of puddles made me even more thirsty than before.  Why didn't I drink more water?  It's not good when the only thing you can think about on a run is how thirsty you are.  I am convinced that was why my legs felt like lead and my feet like cinder blocks.  Lack of hydration.  Then it made me think about my favorite hydration/electrolyte replacement.  Nuun.  When I first had it, it was at a race expo and I thought it was bad.  It's hard sometimes to drink those thinks when you're just moseying around not needing electrolyte replacements because they just taste like diluted Kool-Aid.  But now, it's my favorite!  Then just the other day I was reading that Kara Goucher has partnered with Nuun and had a giveaway on Facebook (which I didn't enter, but I thought about it).

I don't carry water or any other beverage with me when I go running shorter distance runs.  I find that it just slows me down and its unnecessary, as long as I have hydrated well prior to my run.  And in this case, I failed to hydrate well prior to my run and I am suffering the consequences now.  My focus is off.  My form is off.  I am a mess.  I am inordinately exhausted at a time when I should be feeling good.  You know it's bad when not only standing water looks appealing, but you start thinking about asking strange people if you can have a cup of water from their kitchen, you know like they are volunteers for my run and their house is a hydration station.

I'm not even sure at what point I was when the run started to feel decent, but even though I was thirsty as all get out and just wanted to end the misery.  I reached a point where I was able to fall into a comfortable rhythm; I just tuned into my music, tried to take my mind off my thirst (which was no easy feat.  Really, I just kept thinking about George Costanza, saying that line, "these pretzels are making me thirsty!")  There was no fixing my pace at that point, the damage had been done early on; now, I just need to focus on finishing.  Then as I ran across Holgate down 52nd to Steele I thought I felt a raindrop.  Could it be?  I felt what could have been maybe 10 raindrops.  Wow, way to throw me a bone when I'm about 2 miles from my house.  The clouds did come, which was nice, and there was a little bit of a breeze.  The even nicer part, was I was able to hit all green lights for the rest of the way home (really, red lights are the bane of my running-in-the-city existence, that and cement streets and pot holes - recall Charlie Hales!).

In the final stretch, I am cruising.  Feeling great, I've been non-stop for a while now and any kinks brought on by being ridden with thirst seemed to have worked themselves out.  I am still thirsty, but I have found my groove...as usual, it took me a couple miles to find it, but now that I'm here, I am at cruising altitude and if I had hydrated I would be able to go a couple more miles, but now that I am within a mile of my house I am excited but can kick it up a notch.  I will hydrate when I get home.  Note to self: drink more water.  Drink, drink, drink because your run depends on it.  A good run depends on it.  Now that I am home, just under 6 miles, probably my slowest in months, it has started to downpour.


Monday, May 19, 2014

Race pace blues or maybe another marathon in my future...

Post race do you look at your results and they are (1) not what you expected? (2) different than your time-keeper  you used during the race?  This post could go a multitude of directions.  It could become a rant about Mapmyrun or it could go the inward self-reflecting, accept who you are at this moment, touchy feely direction.  I haven't totally decided, yet.  But, let me tell you how I am feeling and there may be an intersection of emotions.

This weekend, while most Portland runners probably stayed in town to do the Rock n' Roll half-marathon, I opted to save myself some money, because that one cost a whole lot of money and after having done it once, I'm not totally sure what all the fuss is about.  I, however, am all about a well priced race, so I entered a smaller race in Keizer, Oregon.  The Keizer Iris Run which was first mentioned to me by the law librarian and it fit in with my training schedule (I was looking for a half in May) and the price was right ($50) versus $80+ (like the Rock n' Roll or Hippie Chick, with a discount code, yikes!); check and check.  I had trained pretty well.  Then maybe three weeks prior to, I started having some back pain and that put a kink in my training and I just didn't feel like running, but I would go anyway and would really suffer the consequences.  I popped my pills and saw my acupuncturist and continued with my training and thought I was feeling well enough (beside, I'd already paid for the entry, I'm going).

The first couple miles felt okay.  I always feel like the first three miles are my warm-up miles anyway, so I am always slogging through those just to get into a rhythm.  I thought, 'if I can just get myself through the first 9 miles, I should be okay'.  My music played on, a little Madonna, a little Fitz and the Tantrums, some Willie Moon, all seemed to be going just fine.  I ran alongside some older gentleman for a while - not talking, just keeping the same pace, but he must have entered the 10k because I didn't see him after the 10k turnaround.  My pace felt faster according to mapmyrun.  For the first 2 miles she said I was running 10 min/miles, then for miles 3 and 4 she said I had sped up to 9 min/miles.  Granted, I did feel like my pace was faster, but not unbearable.  It was so flat out there and the scenery was so rural and picturesque that you really began to just feel the ground pass under your feet effortlessly (in the beginning, toward the end, it passes with great effort where you wish there was a golf cart to give you a ride a couple of blocks).  Eventually, I couldn't convince myself that I could I could carry on this effortless charade any and all the things you know about running being a mental as well as physical sport, well, it's all true.  I fall victim to it often and when I know that I can continue running because I am physically strong enough and capable, mentally I start to shut down and walk a few steps.  Those few steps walking is the kiss of death for me because it is so hard to regain that momentum I once had going (which is why I try to limit it to a few steps only).  Curses!  I didn't make it to the 9-mile mark.  Grrr!!!  That's okay.  Don't beat yourself up about it.  I'm sure I can leave some roadkill behind (you know, when you pass another runner, i.e., roadkill).  Eventually, I make it to the turn around and I had been playing cat and mouse with these two guys.  They passed me, I passed them, they passed me and after the turn around I only saw one of the pair.  I kept him in my line of vision along with this other woman wearing turquoise leggings; those two would be my rabbits and I the greyhound.  The big guy was like a tortoise, he wasn't moving terribly fast, but more of a moderate and constant steady pace, that's actually hard to beat, very admirable component.  Turquoise legs was running similar to my pace but she would stop and walk every now and again and eat a energy gel pack or just take a breather.  So that was my opportunity to strike, but I had to catch up to her first and I did not want to expend much energy because after running 10 miles, you have to save some in the tank for the last three to get you to the finish.  I was able to pass the big guy at mile 10 and I never saw him again.  Yay!  My mapmyrun said I had slowed down and was now running 10.56 min/mile (that was my split pace, so I was really showing signs of exhaustion at that point), but my running still looked fluid.  I was able to speak to volunteers and sound like a normal person.  I passed turquoise legs by just trying to run a steady pace and stay focused.  There were a couple little hills in there, and I tend to do well on hills, and then we were about to be back in the neighborhood so I knew the misery was about to be over.  Good.

Aaah, the rain started.  It was predicted, but it hadn't drizzled at all until the last mile of the run, really??  Harumph!  I stopped and walked a moment and while I was walking, turquoise legs ran passed me.  I saw her and just thought, that's fine, I'll catch up to her, but I need a breather now.  (I should have known what was happening, this happens at every stinking race I do, especially towards the end...my give a shit was about to break.  Why didn't I see it coming?  Grrr.  You know what 'they' say about hindsight.)  Anyway, I did start running again, and I did surpass turquoise legs as she was donning a jacket (seriously, what's a little rain?  What kind of Oregon runner are you that you stop in the middle of an organized run to put on a rain jacket?  Huh?  I don't even know how many times I've gone running in rain, both a little drizzle to a monsoon: I survived (she would have too, just saying).  Anyway, while she was putting on her jacket, I passed her highness.  Now, there is less than a mile to go according to mapmyrun and I figure at this point I could probably keep up running to the finish line, right (but, dang, I am so flipping exhausted!  Why do I do this to myself? Yes, I can do this, easy peasy lemon squeasy, just keep going, just keep going.  Why can't Alicia Keys, Girl on Fire come on when you need it?  or MIA come on for some extra motivation.  The right tunes can carry me through and at that moment, I don't recall what was playing but it was not the right tunes, I know that much is for sure.  I ran several blocks then I walked a second or two, then ran, then walked half a second, then these ladies that I had passed a while ago passed me and you know I didn't think much of it.
Then this other lady that I had never even seen had come out of nowhere had passed me, what??  That's fine.  I continued running for and passed a couple, the woman was wearing a shirt of Whibdey Island marathon/half-marathon.  I thought I'd look that up later because I'm sure that's a scenic run.  Then, the unthinkable thing happened...turquoise legs passed me running.  I just didn't care anymore.  I started running, but just couldn't muster up enough energy to catch up to her or continue running for very long.  I was on E (at least until I could see the finish line).  Because when I see the finish line, I can run again, but not super fast, just fast enough to have a respectable crowd finish running across the line.  As it turns out, she ultimately finished 2 seconds ahead of me.  2 seconds! (but the real kicker is, she is 4 years older than me...argh!)

After finishing and turning off my mapmyrun, she said- and it took me a little bit of time to get my phone out of my pocket and save the run and all that, she said my pace was 10.47 min/mile.  I usually don't believe she is 100% accurate, but I try to believe there is some hint of truth to her numbers.  Perhaps she is within +/-5 min/mile, or maybe that's being too generous?  Sam asked me how I did, because the family couldn't make it to the run with me, I told him what mapmyrun said and he congratulates me.  I'm feeling pretty good, too.  I guess congratulations weren't really in order yet; they were premature until the official race results were posted.  Then they were and I was dejected.  I needed consoling.  My pace, my official pace was 10.56.  mwah, mwah.  After seeing that this afternoon, my mood fell flat.  Its amazing how you can go from feeling good when you believed your pace was 10.47 to be demoralized when the real pace is posted, like high school grades, for everyone to see, or who made the team after try-outs: 10.56.  I tried to keep this in perspective.  Thinking back on how going to weightwatchers, which I have been going for ages (imagine counseling in a group with a bunch of know-it-alls, blech) and when you have a bad weigh-in, they've said you should not let that weigh in ruin your day or your week.  Yes, it can be depressing, but think about what you can do to change so it doesn't happen again the following week.  What little changes can you make?  So, that's what I've tried to do with this race result.  I have gone back and looked at my last couple race results.  The last couple half marathons I have done are the Vancouver Lake Half, which was January 2014 (that was a horrible course, I might add) but I finished that one in 2:21:53, the next race I did was the Roaring River Half and I finished that one in 2:24:06.  So, this one is right in the middle, meaning I didn't do as bad as thought, but I could have done better than I did.  I finished in 2:23:08.

What could I do for the next one?  I could try to not let mental focus break down right before the finish line, in the last mile.  And, not be so hard on myself.  Naah, i'm not going to stop doing that, that's part of my make up, it's who I am.  I'll adjust my playlist and make sure I have more motivating music to keep me going.  Maybe I should train for another marathon or ultra?  Maybe that's what I need??



Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Happy stinking mother's day...it's a sham

Mother's Day is over,  what a sham of a holiday.  I was chatting with the daughter of a client yesterday and she was saying how she thought Mother's Day is another Hallmark holiday, opportunity to make some money.  I would tend to agree.  I adore my children and I know they love me...even though Eytan did say she wanted to write a book called, "Mommy Go Away for 90-Years".  This morning, she crawled into bed with me to tell me a menagerie of things, one of which was "I love you, Mommy, I never want you to go away" (I guess she's putting a hold on production on that book).  Ayelet tells me, almost daily, "I love you so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so, so much" and hugs me at the knee caps.  They both make me little trinkets both at school and at home while I'm making them breakfast, snacks, and dinner.  They pick flowers for me, make me mud-pies and all sorts of things to show me how much they love me, daily.  So did they need Sunday, May 11th to tell them something they already knew? Or to remind them to do something they already do instinctively?  No, because what that did for them was tell them to wake at 6:15 a.m., traipse into my room, and wake me, from my peaceful slumber to tell me, "Happy Mother's Day!!"  Bleary eyed, actually, I don't even know if I opened my eyes, now that I think about it, it was so stinkin' early.  Perhaps one eye was open, as I said, 'thanks girls, that's sweet, now can you go lay down in your beds and talk quietly for a while, it's really early.'  They came back maybe 30 minutes later.  At that point, I figured it was over.  Sam had said the night before he was going to take the dog running in the morning and we were planning on going to my parent's house for brunch.  So, I was encouraging him to get up and go early since we were already awake, rather than lay around in bed under the guise that he was going back to sleep.  Its not happening.  Get your butt up, take your dog and go running and get it over with so we can get this day moving, the clock is ticking.  It never fails that we are the last to arrive anywhere because ... well, we just are.   Finally, Sam takes Barni and goes running, I help the girls get dressed and tidy up the house, get dressed.  Then Sam gets back and remembers there is a dead chicken at the school he was going to bag to remove so when the kids return on Monday, they don't have to see a dead chicken.  Now, where is the key to the gate?  It was hanging on the hook by the door and now its not.  Again, the clock is ticking, and its stuff like this that affect our arrival times.  Sam looks around the house and outside.  I continue to get dressed, the girls watch Wild Kratts.  I look in my car for the key and clean out my car at the same time, no key, Sam sits and waits and watches Wild Kratts with the girls.  Whatever, we'll look for the key later but at the very least Sam should get in the shower so we can leave because at this point, my mom has already called asking when we are coming over.  Ugh!  Well, since you can hear the television in the background, you know I am still at home, so I haven't left my house yet.  I don't know when I'm leaving, probably when I get in my car.  I'll call you when we're on our way.  But, as I am on the phone, I get a glimpse of the floor and see it is covered in dog hairs.  So, while I am waiting for Sam to shower, I vacuum the floor.  I move some furniture, the ottoman, the arm chair, the couch and voila! the key is under the couch.  Amazing what you find when you look and move furniture.  I give the key to Eytan and tell her to go give it to Daddy and tell him I found the key.  Eventually, he strolls down the stairs, gets a garbage bag, goes up to the school, bags the dead chicken, and back home.  Now, to get the stuff we are taking to my parent's house for brunch.  A quick stop for coffee and out to Troutdale.  Oy vey. Of course, there is an accident on the freeway, why wouldn't there be? This is why we show up when we do.  We stay in T-dale for a while, have brunch, visit with the family and then it's time to go.

As we head home, I'm feeling the pressure of waking up at 6:15 and that 10.91 mile run from Saturday begin to catch up with me.  I'm like a zombie at the wheel.  I just need to make it home so I can lie down and take a nap.  Sam said he'd take the girls and dog to the river since the weather was so nice.  I was able to nap while they were gone.  Then when they came home it was go time again for mommy.  Sam cleaned our chicken coop, I played with the girls on their bikes on the sidewalk out front.  Then I asked Ayelet, 'Is that goat out?'  Then realizing both goats were roaming freely, it was time to herd some goats.  I raced back home to get some work gloves and a rope, not knowing how easy/difficult this would be and told Sam, "THE GOATS ARE OUT!"  On my way back up to the school my neighbor Katie was out because she noticed the goats were out and was going to help.  Between the two of us, we managed to get Stormy and Joey back into the gated area.  But not before noticing all 6 chickens were out as well.  What is this??  At this point, my other neighbor Peggy Sue was there to help wrangle animals.  Eytan and Ayelet helped collect chickens because they love that.  We have our own chickens and catching chickens and petting chickens is something they know how to do and they love to do it.  Eytan caught a chicken and put it back in the gate.  Ayelet chased, which is her usual course of action.  Peggy Sue caught two by the tail-feathers.  Katie got one back in and I got another in.  Eventually, all the animals were back in their rightful home.  Sam locked up the gate better than he did in the morning and we all departed.  Good thing all my neighbors are friends.

Back at home, time to clip nails and I smell something just putrid.  I thought it was Barni farting.  Then it occurs to me, it was Ayelet's feet.  Oooh, my gosh it was horrid.  It smelled like a toilet, actually like a porta-potti.  Sam said they had walked around in the Willamette.  Ugh, that explains it, that river is disgusting!  And, Barni had been thrown in and forced to swim (the dog hates water, but we love to see her swim).  Between Ayelet, Eytan and Barni they all smelled like crap.  My stomach was flipping.  The girls got baths, but Barni somehow got overlooked.  Then in the middle of the night I woke to go to the bathroom to a horrible smell in our room because her bed is in our room.  Barni has funked up our room because she did not get a bath and now she has funkdefied our room and I am being smoked out.

That was my mother's day.  This is why I say it is a sham.  From beginning at 6:15 a.m. to the next day funking up my bedroom smelling like crap, happy stinking mother's day.  


Monday, May 5, 2014

What's really important?

Last week Jane and I were planning to go out to do some route scouting for our 3/4 marathon, but by the end of the day I had texted Jane and she said she was over-heated, sunburned and exhausted and pregnant to boot so I did not feel I was in any position to tell her to get off her tuchus and go out as we had planned.  That would make me really seem heartless (even though I did want to get out there), I remember how much it sucks being pregnant when its warm.  We decided to go out the following morning before work.  I failed however to clarify if we would be going out by bike or on foot.  I showed up prepared to walk any distance in comfy Puma's and Jane's first response was, "Where's your bike!?!?" Oh, crap.  Always, always, important to clarify details such as this.  Fortunately, it was not a complete waste of our time.  We did figure out a great route which we are completely in love with. You'll have to stay tuned, i'm going to create a Kickstarter account to raise money...because this 3/4 marathon is for an important cause as well.  We had a nice walk through the neighborhood and talked about all sorts of things.  Why people are out in the middle of the day and not at work.  Whether Eytan's teacher is unconsciously suppressing females from speaking up in class.  Orange is the new black.  Lot splitting.  Gentrification.  You name it, we cover a lot of ground when we get to talking.  Eventually, we wrapped up and we both headed to work. 

Just I was thinking all was good and I would do my work and head home at a respectable hour, at around 2, I remembered I had agreed to be a running buddy with Girls on the Run, a volunteer organization to empower girls and show them they can set a goal and achieve it. Curses, I completely forgot my running clothes and I forgot my lunch because I wasn't planning on staying at work all stinking day.  Grr.  And, it was hot that day too.  Wouldn't this be just my luck.  That's when you have that moment of quickly trying to gather all your stuff to leave your work and think: do I have time to go home and get some running clothes and then make it to where I need to be by 4:15?  Every second seemed like five minutes had passed and I was moving more slowly than the last second.  What is going on???  Turn off the computer, or hibernate.  Do something, shut down mo-fo!! shut down!!  Then dash out to the car.  Google map how far this park I need to be at is located from where I am.  Hmm, is it really possible to make it to my house and risk my kids asking and freaking out about why I'm home but not staying home and why they can't come with me versus just going home and bailing on Girls on the Run or going to the park to volunteer just in the wrong clothes?  Now, I'm on the freeway and holy moly, where did all this traffic come from?  Okay, that solves that problem.  I clearly cannot go home first because there is no way I will make it back to southwest Portland in time.  Now, I'm beginning to wonder if I will even make it on time; i'm stopped in traffic, hungry, eating tic-tacs and drinking water.  Delicious.  Now my head is starting to hurt as well...wonderful.  Why did I not put those maxalt (migraine medications) in the glove box?? 

I make it to Gabriel Park on time and there were so many girls and running buddies! I was the most fashionable, wearing a black pencil skirt and yellow cotton tee with matching green and yellow Puma's from my route scout with Jane.  Of course I was wearing earrings and lipstick, because I had just left my office unlike every other running buddy who was dressed appropriately for the occasion, wearing running attire.  I figured it was more important that I show up for my young runner inappropriately dressed than not show up at all.  I am a woman of my word and if I could encourage someone else, that's wonderful.  I met my runners: Sophie and Tessa.  They were great, fun and unique.  I was concerned about my own ability to complete the practice 5k in shoes that aren't really meant for running and a bra that was not meant for running either...really, everything about my outfit said: sit at a desk and answer some questions, not run in 90 degree heat.  But, I managed to do it as did my girls.  It did take a bit of cajoling to get one of them to keep motivated, but the temperature was a barrier.  

In the end, I was so glad I volunteered and I am looking forward to running with Tessa and Sophie for the Starlight Run.  I'm glad that email from Oregon Women Lawyer's came and caught my eye and I volunteered with Girls on the Run.  I feel like I am generally able to distinguish what's really important in my life and in this case I did the right thing and I am so glad I did.  I would definitely volunteer with this organization again.  I can't wait for Eytan and Ayelet to be involved so I can run with my girls.   

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

The allure of a race

I had a nice leisurely morning this morning.  There was no docket to be at so I was able to put on some running clothes and go for a run this morning (alone, without Sam's dog...oh, the joy of running solo without Barni) after the girls went to school.  What a beautiful morning too.  The sun was shining, the birds were singing, and it was warm (which I am not really a fan of, running while it's warm, but it was wonderful.  

Now, as I sit in my office, working (for the most part) I find myself looking at the racecenter.com race calendar because a couple weekends have gone by and I am ahead of schedule with my training for a half-marathon I was planning to enter May 18, the Keizer Iris Festival Half-Marathon.  I just ran 9 miles two-weekends ago.  Therefore, I am feeling like I could probably enter a half-marathon now and be ready to go.  Granted, that's a bit ahead of schedule, but I don't think it's unmanageable.  Then, when I look at the calendar, it's almost like shopping.  Your palms get a little sweaty at the idea of entering that perfect race (at the right price...that is always a factor).  I think I found one.  The Oregon Spring Half in Aurora, May 3.  You click on the event website and learn as much as you can about that particular race.  Is this really a good idea?  Should I really enter this race?  Am I really prepared to run 13.1 miles this weekend in Aurora?  On one shoulder is a pair of talking running shoes saying "yes, you should do it" and on the other shoulder is your jammies and pillow and bed saying, "ugh, stay here and sleep in, you know you want to".  Both incredibly valid points and both incredibly true.  

Why do you draw me in so, race calendar?  What I really need is a race May 10th, the following weekend.  Of course however, when I look for a race that weekend there is no half-marathon within a reasonable distance from my home on the calendar.  Therefore, I am left to the race I have already slated to enter May 18.  I just wanted to enter another one too (can you hear the sadness and disappointment in my voice...imagine a small whiny child...I hear that sound daily).  The Oregon Spring Half is in Aurora.  The event website said it is a flat course too.  I bet it would have been pretty picturesque.  It's at St. Josef's Winery, not that I am familiar with that, but where wineries are located tend to be beautiful.  Hmm, lets click on registration information...Ouch, the registration fee is $75!  Well, there goes the allure and draw of that half-marathon.  Amazing how those jammies and pillow won out so easily.  I will still go out for a run this weekend.  A FREE, self-directed, 11-mile training run for the half-marathon I have coming up May 18 in Keizer (which, I actually need to enter...mental note to self...do that pronto: $50).  The allure of entering another race was foiled by budgetary concerns.  My palms are no longer sweaty...back to work.


Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Why does my elbow hurt???

All day today, I kept wondering why my elbow was hurting.  I rubbed my elbow thinking, dang, that really hurts, I can't even think what happened.  In the car on the way home, I was thinking I can't wait to get this jacket off to take a look at my elbow to see if there is a bruise or something.  Then of course, something else comes up and then it slips my mind.  But, eventually, my mom brought my girls home and I was chatting with Eytan who said something about having a bruise somewhere and that reminded me of my bruise.  At that point Sam was home and now as a family, we could compare owwees. I told Sam my elbow had been hurting all day and I couldn't think of why.  Sam asked if I blamed Barni (his dog).  Which, strangely I hadn't even thought to blame Barni --even though I usually do blame her because she grates my nerves and is the source of much angst in my life.  Uh, hmm, let me think this through now that you raise the issue.

This weekend, I did go running with Barni.  Barni, a dane-lab mix, who is not quite a year-old, and full of puppy energy, needs a lot of exercise and time playing to tire her out so she is bearable in the house.  Otherwise there is the constant threat that my foot will be up her tuchus.  All the time when I am about to go for a run Sam says, "are you going take Barni?"  I usually succumb to his request and ultimately take her with me, even though I do not want to.  She is a relatively good running dog, but just not with me.  Every time I have gone running with Barni lately, the B (take it however you so choose, but she is a female dog, so it's not necessarily pejorative to call her a bitch, it is accurate...in multiple ways)...but, Barni has effing tripped me.

Trip #1:  I went running with Barni and we were near the golf course on 28th across from Reed College.  I was looking straight ahead as I generally do, it was a slight uphill.  Barni, following her lab instinct (look a squirrel/duck/goose/bird/leaf, it-moved-I must-go-for-it instinct), or dane goofiness (should I run over here, or over there?) or puppy can't focus on anything, ran in my path causing me to trip and fall forward over her, tripping on my wrist and scraping my knee and palms of my hands.  After I got up, I was so flipping angry at the bitch, I wanted her to die and get run over by a truck.  No such luck.  And, the leash was still around my wrist so I would have had to undo the wrapping of the leash from around my wrist to save myself to sacrifice her, believe me, I could have done it if the opportunity had presented itself.  I was that pissed.  Once I got up, I felt horrible.  I'm not a crier, but I felt like crying it hurt so badly.  I was able to pull it together and a few moments later, managed to run again.  I remember thinking my elbow is killing me for several more miles because after I fell, I had rolled onto my elbow.  I thought I may have seriously injured my elbow.  It wasn't until I got home that I even noticed my wrist was a bloody, road rash mess.  Now, it has healed and looks like some horrible bruise and I am scarred for life courtesy of Sam's bitch.  Sam asked me afterwards if Barni looked remorseful.  Seriously, how does a dog look remorseful?  Oy.

Trip #2:  Once again, about to go for a run, Sam asked me if I was going to take Barni.  Fine, against my better judgment, I will take her.  Really, I take her to spare my kids from Barni acting crazy if she were left at home with them.  We were going on a weekend run along the Springwater Corridor.  This trip, was an incomplete trip.  We were crossing the foot bridge that crosses McGloughlin Boulevard.  Once again, Barni can't look forward and zig-zags when she runs with me and she got tangled up with me feet from behind causing me to lose my balance.  This time I did not trip, but I did lose my balance.  I was able to catch myself, but I could completely envision what could/would have happened if I had fallen.  We were right by all the steel and concrete footings and supports on the bridge.  I kept imagining falling and hitting my teeth or face on the bridge and needing reconstructive surgery.  Damn you dog!  I told Sam when I got home, that this was the last time.  No more, I am done running with that dog.  Barni is intentionally trying to trip me so I am not going to take her running with me again.  Sam, ever the supporter of all things Barni, questioned "do you really think Barni has the ability to intentionally try to trip you?"  Generally speaking, I don't think dogs have that higher brain function to be manipulative or to intentionally cause harm to another, however, after these two trips I am beginning to think that Barni is capable.  Partly because she hears me saying how much I want her gone, she uses the runs I take her on as her opportunity to get back at me.  Crazy sounding, I realize, but I think I am on to something.

Trip #3:  This weekend, my last and final run with the bitch.  As I head out and give the girls kisses, queue up my music and out the door.  On the agenda is 9 miles and I'm planning on heading toward Lloyd Center.  All is going well.  Pace is feeling good.  I do hate having to stop for traffic lights, but other than that, it's feeling pretty good.  I'm almost done and a little over 8 miles down and that's when she decided to stick it to me.  Barni tripped me, once again, and this time I fell onto a parked car.  I did not hit the ground at all but hit the car and rolled over it slightly.  Again, I cursed the dog and everything about her.  But, I also am too uptight about my pace to stop so I continued running for another mile to my house at which point I tell Sam his bitch tripped me and that I am no longer taking her running with me: I'm done!

So when I complain about my elbow hurting, it dons on me that the pain is from rolling on that parked car after Barni tripped me.  Yes, I should have blamed Barni for my elbow pain because she is completely to blame.